The Get Down Season 2

‘The Get Down’ is an American musical-drama period TV series. Baz Luhrmann and Stephen Adly Guirgis are the creators of the show. It premiered on Netflix on August 12, 2016. The first season of the show released in two parts. The first part released on August 12, 2016. This part contained six episodes. The second part of the show released on April 7, 2017. This contained the remaining five parts of the show.

The show received positive reviews from the critics and the audience worldwide. It scored 81% on Rotten Tomatoes. The Get Down is the recipient of Original Song – TV Show/Limited Series Awards (2017).

The Get Down Plot:

The plot revolves around in the 1970s Bronx, New York City. Hip-Hop music is on the rise. MC Books, a famous rapper commences the show. He raps his life’s story in a concert. These raps are about the previous episodes and the stories of the upcoming episodes.

READ MORE:  The Order Season 2 Release Date, Cast, Plot, Trailer did you all know about.

Zeke (young MC Books) is a budding poet. He lives with aunt Wanda after his parents die. He meets a graffiti artist and a DJ, Shaolin Fantastic. They both team up to form a band, ‘The Get Down’. The aim of becoming the greatest music producer and taking up the city.

Mylene is the crush of Zeke. She wants to become a successful and famous disco singer. She leaves the Bronx to pursue her dreams. The show features the rivalries between the gangs and the introduction of the new music. The series also depicts the poverty and the violence in the slums.

The Get Down Season 2:

The show did quite well on screens. The critics appreciated the plot, the direction, and the characters of the show. Unfortunately, Netflix has opted out from renewing the show for the second time. This means that we will not receive the second season of The Get Down.

The Get Down Cast:

  • Justice Smith as Ezekiel (“Zeke”) “Books” Figuero
  • Shameik Moore as Curtis “Shaolin Fantastic”
  • Herizen F. Guardiola as Mylene Cruz
  • Skylan Brooks as Ronald “Ra-Ra” Kipling
  • Tremaine Brown Jr. as Miles “Boo-Boo” Kipling
  • Yahya Abdul-Mateen II as Clarence “Cadillac” Caldwell
  • Jimmy Smits as Francisco “Papa Fuerte” Cruz