The New Legends of Monkey Season 2

The New Legends of Monkey is Australian-New Zealand television series. The show is the adaptation of Monkey Magic. Monkey Magic is a Japanese TV drama based on 16th-century Chinese story, Journey to the West. Gerard Johnstone is the director of the show. The series released on 28 January 2018 on ABC Me television channel. The show initially came out for Australia only. Later it released internationally on Netflix on 28 April 2018. The show received many nominations and awards. Some of them are 2018 New Zealand Television Awards, 8th AACTA Awards, and 18th Annual Screen Producers Australia (SPA) Awards. The show received loved from the audience, across the world.

‘The New Legends of Monkey’ plot:

‘The New Legends of Monkey’ revolves around the Monkey King Sun Wukong. Sun Wukong got imprisoned by his enemies in Heaven approximately 500 years ago. Shortly after, the demons begin to rule the earth. They begin to oppress human beings. Humans seek help, open to looking out for Gods and immortals. Gods hide somewhere to save themselves from the demons. 

READ MORE:  Violet Evergarden Season 2: Release Date, Cast, Plot and ending for Major Gilbert explained

A scholar secretly plans to free the Monkey King. He wants to free him because he stole a secret scroll and hid it somewhere. The scroll contained secrets that could make the reader the most powerful person. So, the scholar plans to unite the Gods and the immortals. Just before the quest, a demon attacks and kills everyone in the monastery. Scholar’s daughter somehow saves herself. The scholar entrusts her with finding the Monkey King.

‘The New Legends of Monkey’ Season 2 Updates:

‘The New Legends of Monkey’ came out with its first season on 28 January 2018. Since then, it has managed to retain its viewership and fanbase. 

Looking at the success of the show, the producers decided to renew the show for the second season in 2018. The second season will reach the audience on Netflix on August 7, 2020. 

‘The New Legends of Monkey’ Cast:

  • Chai Hansen as Monkey (Sun WuKong)
  • Luciane Buchanan as Tripitaka (Sanzo)
  • Josh Thomson as Pigsy (Cho Hakkou)
  • Emilie Cocquerel as Sandy (Sa Goji)
  • Jarred Blakiston as Font Demon
  • Josh McKenzie as Davari
  • Jordan Mooney as Raxion
  • Rachel House as Monica
  • Daniel Watterson as Shaman
  • Bryony Skillington as Princess Locke
  • JJ Fong as Lusio
  • Jayden Daniels as Gaxin
  • Chelsie Preston Crayford as Gwen